Boxing Day 10-Miler: The successful third attempt

It’s been a while, mostly because I haven’t had much worth writing about. Well, that’s not true. I like complaining about the weather all winter, but that strikes me as something people might not want to read about. In any case, I raced the Boxing Day 10-Miler last week and there’s nothing like the demand for a race report to force a blog update.

My December, as usual, was rough. I took some time off after Canadian XC. Four days off during an eight day stretch of downtime, not too shabby! I hate taking time off of running. I am used to being exhausted from training hard, so when I take time off, I have trouble sleeping. And by that I mean it takes me more than two minutes to be sound asleep after turning off the light. It was terrible. Seriously, do non-runners actually live like this? After just over a week of this hell it was time to run again, and who else is there to greet me but tons of snow and cold winter weather? There was a while where I was pretty sore from running on the snow. I had to make an effort to seek out good footing, whether this was doing loops of Springbank Park, running on the road along bus routes, or occasionally hitting the treadmill. By the weekend before the race I was starting to feel better, and a good progression run that Sunday gave me a bit of confidence.

The Boxing Day Run hasn’t been kind to me in the past. Two years ago, we had great weather, but I underestimated the difficulty of the course, went out way too hard, and positive split by over three minutes, finishing second to Lucy Njeri. Last year I was a bit smarter and managed to run faster in worse weather (cold and very windy). Unfortunately Lucy and Kate Harrison both brought their A-game and completely destroyed me. This year, the weather was a bit milder (around -2 and lighter wind) and I was feeling decent, so I was more optimistic than usual. Best of all, the course had changed and the monster hill at around 7 miles was taken out! Steve and I figured that 59-low would be a good time goal considering the course and my current fitness. The plan was to run the first five miles in the 5:50s and keep it comfortable early on.

It is all well and good to make a plan like that, but sometimes competitive-Leslie takes over and ignores the plan. This usually results in pain in the second half of the race. I lined up beside Lisa Avery on the start line and competitive-Leslie took over and started making terrible decisions, like going out in 5:40 for the first mile. That did not feel comfortable at all, and Lisa was still right beside me. We settled down on the second mile as we hit the wind on the waterfront, but after seeing the split, competitive-Leslie went into idiot mode and thought “I’m gonna break her right here!” Idiot. So I pressed the pace and ran a 5:45. Let me reiterate that this did not feel good at all. I suppose that is the difference between being sharp and race ready versus only doing one workout in the last month. Having realized all of this in the first three miles, the only logical thing to do was to hammer a 5:42 fourth mile in an attempt to drop Lisa. Obviously when I’m running, my body diverts blood flow from non-essential things like my brain to essential things like my legs. Honestly, I was getting pretty worried that I was going to blow up at this pace and suffer a painful defeat since Lisa was still right beside me. That woman is tough.

Fortunately I was able to open up a gap on Lisa in the fifth mile and put some distance on her in the hilly turnaround loop area. I slowed down a bit, but I could see that the gap between Lisa and I was growing, so I figured she’d cracked. Through six miles I was starting to realize that I was on pace for a decent time, so I tried to maintain as best as possible on the way back. I managed to pick off a few guys ahead of me and run some decent splits. Those last two miles weren’t fun, though. It isn’t a true Boxing Day race experience if you don’t spend the second half of the race questioning the life choices you have made over the holidays that have led you to this point. Such as: Why did I smother my entire dinner in gravy last night? Why did I follow that up with cookies and chocolate? Or better yet, why didn’t I do all of those things and simply sleep in and skip the race instead of forcing my body through ten miles of pain today? Well, not much I could do about that, so I had to get through a rather uncomfortable last mile during which I probably ran over six minutes. I made a good charge for the finish line in an effort to break 58 minutes and thought I had it, but the official time came up 58:00. Oh well, it was still a personal best.

It was great to take the win at the Boxing Day race; that event has a very long and rich history and it’s great to have my name up there on the list of race winners among some legends and studs. After three tries, I finally got the gold belt buckle! Lisa Avery put up a tough fight out there (obviously, she’s tough as nails from raising three kids while training like a badass in snow-covered Orillia!) I think we both pushed each other to run quick times on the day. A big thanks to the race crew in Hamilton, it was a fun race and I will definitely be back next year!

Well, that about wraps up my races for 2013. I’ll have to run some more in 2014 so I have something to write about on here. Happy New Year and happy running, everyone!

This entry was posted in Race Report. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boxing Day 10-Miler: The successful third attempt

  1. Gravy, chocolate and cookies are excellent reasons to stay in bed, but if you’re going to get up and race you may as well win it while setting a new PR. Great job Leslie!

    • Leslie Sexton says:

      Haha, thanks Mike! Fortunately I got the PB and win and got to enjoy cookies and chocolate after anyway. Christmas is a great time of year.

Leave a Reply

