Post-nationals blues

I seem to keep trying to blog, but each time I end up writing a long, rambling post in a mostly depressing tone. And then I end up giving up because no one wants to read that (and Steve will complain that I’m being too negative…Negative? Me?)
 
The trouble is that I haven’t really had anything particularly exciting or inspiring to write about since nationals. I’m in a post-nationals-pre-Ontario Championships state of limbo, and to be honest, it’s not very enjoyable. The Canadian Championships went better than I ever could have expected. I was fit going in, I peaked well, and now…well, I’m not sure what to do with myself. There is still a week to go until the Athletics Ontario Championships, and I seem to be lacking strength and motivation. I’m almost anxious for the season to be over with so that I can get on with training for the Toronto Waterfront Half-Marathon (only 99 days until race day!)
 
I had a rough race last week at the Forest City 5k. I was hoping to go after a fast time in the 5000m. It was a good setup, as some guys from the club were also racing and looking to run around the same time as I was. Unfortunately, about 3k into the race my body said “screw you Leslie, I raced a week ago and I’m still tired.” Then I fell off horribly and barely ran under seven minutes for the final 2k. Ugh. I finished in 16:53.03 (at least it was faster than I ran in Calgary!)
 
Looking back, I can’t really be surprised at how the race turned out. I had a great race in Calgary. I went to the well and left everything out there on the track. Six days later, I took a gamble and raced again because it would be my last opportunity to run a fast 5000m. Obviously, I was still tired from my effort at nationals, and it showed.

So that brings us to the present and there isn’t much more to say. I can’t brag about my awesome training and high mileage because it’s near the end of the season and I’m tapering/maintaining. I promise something more exciting once half-marathon training starts and I have plenty of tales of epic mileage totals, hardcore workouts, and magical runs out on Denfield. The callousing begins on July 24th.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

