Recap

It’s nice to finally be healthy enough over the long term to have a decent mileage base again. By my calculations, I have run 1,094 miles over the past ten weeks, which gives me a pretty decent average. Not that numbers matter. Who am I kidding? Of course they do.

My training has been a lot of easy runs with the odd tempo or interval workout thrown in. I’ve probably averaged two tempos/workouts per week. I’ve also run a few races. Most of them have been very low-key fun runs so that I could shake the rust off without putting too much pressure on myself. If you have read this blog before, you might know that I am prone to writing long race reports, so I’ve tried to limit myself to a brief summary of each race.

March 21st: Fun run to raise money for Autism. 3 miles in 17:30. There was no official timing, so this time comes from my own stopwatch. Learned once again what it was like to push hard and hurt during a race (before this, I hadn’t done very much racing over the past year).

April 9th: Beer mile in 8:07. First overall. Glory. And I still managed to run over 20 miles that day.

April 10th: Fort Henry Alumni Fun Run. We ran on the 5k cross country course that was used for the FISU championships the next day. For most of the race I battled with one of the race officials from France. We were both throwing in surges to try to break each other, but I couldn’t shake him and I refused to get dropped by him. Eventually the two of us caught up to Travis Saunders, Queen’s alumnus and joggler extraordinaire (though he wasn’t joggling at the time). We all ran together for the last kilometer. Nearing the finish, I was about to unleash one final kick, but the French official suggested we all finish together, so the three of us held hands and ran it in easy. My time was about 18:58 or so (Again, I timed it myself as there was no official timing). As it turned out, the French runner was the race director for FISU cross country in France, which I ran two years ago.

April 25th: Limestone Half marathon. 1st woman in 1:22:27. Felt awful for most of the race. Strong headwind over the last 7k. I was hoping to break 80 minutes, but it wasn’t happening. I was about 39 at the 10k mark, so I knew I was way off pace. And it wasn’t going to get any easier after the turnaround, because during the last 6 or 7k, I was facing a brutal headwind. Nevertheless, I pushed hard on the way home and didn’t fall off the pace too badly. I thought of Ryan Hall running Boston this year, because he did his own thing and had fun (see here). So I waved to the kids cheering on the course and gave a few high-fives on the way back. So, thanks for the inspiration, Ryan. It helped me to salvage a bad day and enjoy the race rather than getting upset over my pace. Oh, and I made the local paper. If I said anything that sounds stupid, I swear it wasn’t my fault. The interviewer didn’t have a tape recorder, so no quotes are direct. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

This brings us to the point where I shift my focus to the track. I am registered with OTFA for the first time in four or five years. I usually don’t get very excited about track season, but I have been out of racing for so long that I simply need to do it. I’m anxious to get into a race where I get in way over my head and spend X number of laps either barely hanging on or getting my ass kicked. No, it won’t be pleasant, but for some reason, I miss it.

This entry was posted in Race Report, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

