Three Weeks Lost…

…but I think I’m finally back on track.  For what, I’m still not sure.

The few weeks following my half marathon were absolutely terrible.  First I was stiff.  I thought going out for a run on Monday morning would help, but I gave up after a mile or two of shuffling.  I took a few days off until I was finally able to go down the stairs forwards (rather than sideways or backwards because my quads were screaming in pain).  But even after that, I wasn’t even close to 100%.  I must have caught some sort of bug, because a lot of people at work said they were experiencing the same thing.  I had no energy.  I was sleeping constantly, and having to drag myself out of bed after 10 or 12 hours of sleep, feeling like I could have slept soundly for another five hours.  My running was sort of spotty at this time.  I would have one or two good days, then crash for a while.  I definitely lost some fitness and gained a few pounds during this time.  OK, it’s probably like two or three pounds, but it makes a difference on someone my size.  But I figure it should go once I step up my training, so I’m not very worried about it.

Finally, I started to feel better last week.  I was able to put in a decent week of training.  I wasn’t doing anything too intense, but it was some decent volume.  I ran about 90 minutes a day from Monday through Friday, then 80 on Saturday (feeling awful), then rested on Sunday.  Totalled 71 miles for the week in singles.  I figure I’ll do something similar this week, but probably try to run all seven days.

I’ve also been getting in a bit of cycling, which is good, since the Muskoka tri is coming up in a few weeks.  I’m really excited at the moment, because this Friday I will be getting my tri bike…a Cervelo P2C!  Yes, I know everyone and their dog has a Cervelo, but it was really the best buy in my price range.  I wanted a carbon frame that I would still be happy with in a few years.  I figure I can upgrade the components later if I ever want to (and have the money to).  And I wanted to keep it under $3000, which I barely did, including taxes.  I’m getting fitted on Friday.

It’s nice to bit slightly more casual with running than usual.  I suppose I’m still following a pretty strict plan if I’m doing 70 or 80 mile weeks, but I’m not too uptight about it.  And I’m enjoying all of the easy-paced running, since I currently lack the motivation to drag myself out the door for some crazy interval workout.  I’ll want to do it when the times comes, but that’s not now.

This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Weeks Lost…

  1. Amy says:

    Unplanned time off is so frustrating but always happens for good reason. Hope your training and biking feels good.

    Amy
    http://www.runnerslounge.com
    blog.runnerslounge.com

Leave a Reply

