Back for Now…

So it’s been a while, and I know I’m terrible about updating this thing.  I’ll get into the habit someday, I promise.  I’m going to have to write up an extended race report from my trip to France anyway, so that’s at least one more entry.

Track and the FISU race made for a really long season, and I’m glad that it’s over and that I was able to rest.  I took a week off after the FISU race and started back into running last week.  I told myself that I would take it easy on the first week back, but as predicted I got carried away.  Thankfully, my body seems to be pretty injury-resistant these days, so it didn’t really hurt.  In any case, here is the total volume for Monday April 14th through Sunday April 20th:

Monday: 80 minutes of running (10 miles)

Tuesday: 80 minutes easy at 7:30 pace (10.7 miles)

Wednesday: 92 minutes easy at 7:35 pace (12.1 miles)

Thursday: 60k bike ride to Gananoque and back (not sure of average speed because the HRM sensors were acting up), 85 minutes of running at 7:45 pace (11 miles)

Friday: Ran my 10.7 mile route in 1:12:28 (new route PR!), averaged 6:46 pace.

Saturday: 85 minutes at 7:15 pace (12 miles)

Sunday: 21.4 miles at 6:54 pace (2 X the 10.7 route in 1:14:02 and 1:13:28 for 2:27:30 total)

Total running volume was 87.9 miles in singles!

The long run on Sunday was tough.  Everything else felt pretty comfortable.  What I found strange was the fact that 7 minute pace felt easy on a lot of my runs.  I felt like I was trying really hard to hold back on my Sunday run so that I wouldn’t bonk 3/4 of the way through, but I still managed to maintain sub-7 pace, even when I felt as if I was stumbling in at the end.  I’m not sure if it means I’m at a higher fitness level.  It could just be because I haven’t done any tempo runs or workouts, so everything tends to be faster.  I’m planning on adding in some faster stuff this week.

The first bike ride back was interesting.  I had a great ride on the way out.  Then I managed to wipe out while trying to make a turn-around.  I guess I wasn’t paying attention and the bike went out from under me on some gravel or something.  I have some nice road rask on my right leg and bruises on both legs.  My left knee is a little swollen, but I seem to be able to run on it without pain.  It’s only when I’m sitting around for a long time and I try to move again that it hurts.  So really I just look like a wreck when I’m wearing shorts, but it isn’t that bad.  Plus I got my first sunburn of the year (not serious though) because I didn’t think to put on any suncreen at all before my ride.  It was a beautiful sunny day, not a cloud in the sky.  I should have known better, but I’m still in winter mode.

I suppose that’s enough for now.  I’m in the process of planning out my summer track and/or triathlon schedule, so I’m getting really excited about that!

This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

