Apparently, Kingston is Windy…

Why do I never seem to be able to remember this simple fact?  But I’ll start from the beginning.  I woke up at about 8 AM to do my morning run.  It was grey and raining slightly, one of those days where one is hesitant to simply leave the house.  The run could definitely be called a recovery run, since I seemed to be unable to dip under 8 min/mile pace.  This never really bothers me, since I’ve accepted the fact that I’m not a morning person (plus my legs are always hurting from the previous night’s workout or run).  My morning runs have always been slow.

 Training session #2 consisted of a 42k bike ride.  It’s been week since I last hit the roads, as I’ve been busy getting used to cross country training for the past week.  I went out hard, all the while afraid to ask myself why 30km/h felt so easy, even on slight uphill grades.  As soon as I reached Joyceville and turned to head west back to Kingston, the gusty winds hit me and I slowed right down.  I tried to push hard, but every time I came to a hill, fatigue hit and my legs failed me.  I think I need to spend more time on the bike!  At least I was able to reward myself with a nice roast beef sandwich afterwards.  I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of that stuff.

I’m definitely going to need more sleep if I am to keep up with all of this training.  I don’t have very many morning classes, but I was completely exhausted during my 4-5:30 class today.  So it looks like I’ll either be going to bed early, or taking a midday nap.

I finished off my training for the day with a 10 mile run with the cross country team.  Actually, most of them went shorter, and I tacked on some extra at the end.  My legs felt a bit flat, but I survived and didn’t feel too tired in the last half-hour.

 I also found out some information about my university’s triathlon club.  It’s a competitive club, rather than a varsity team, so I won’t be forced to compete or attend every single practice if I join.  This is important to me, since I am currently attempting to balance the demands of competing for the varsity cross country team with my personal aspirations of training for triathlons.  With the triathlon team, I would be able to get some practices (swims, rides, and spin classes during the winter) in and meet some triathletes to train with.  I think I’m going to go for it, if my schedule permits me to do so.  I’ve also signed up for a stroke improvement swim class, so that I can hopefully stop flailing in the water as I attempt to drag my muscular runner’s legs down the lane. 😉

 It’s going to be a busy year!

This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

